Facebook helped me a lot in preparing for my law entrance. The ‘Clat Hacker’ group was indeed of great help. So were groups like NLUD Hacker, CLATGyan (https://www.facebook.com/groups/112419132179790/), Clat Junction https://www.facebook.com/groups/150062928430697/?ref=ts&fref=ts ), Aim Clat (https://www.facebook.com/groups/aimclat/ ) and many more. I finally got into a National Law School and before entering the premises of my to be college; I accidently, one day ended up liking a Facebook page ‘The Knowledge Steez’ (https://www.facebook.com/theknowledgesteez?ref=ts&fref=ts ). I never knew what this page was all about before September, 2012.
Law has always been regarded as a subject which drags you more into books. But, after the introduction of five year law courses this stream of education has taken a professional shift. The new curriculum has brought new innovations where law can be pursued within the traditional discipline and even beyond that. The experiments in the form of interdisciplinary law courses and recently, the introduction of legal studies by CBSE in the intermediate level have welcomed such products.
Law is equipped with co-curricular activities in which mooting is at the first place. Information about Moot Court competitions is available at different websites like Students at Law (http://studentatlaw.in/ ), Advocate Khoj ( http://www.advocatekhoj.com/ ), Law Mantra (http://lawmantra.org/ ) and Lawctopus (http://www.lawctopus.com/ ) . News about the happenings in the legal and the extra-legal world are available at websites like Live Law (http://www.livelaw.in/ ), Legally India (http://www.legallyindia.com/ ), Bar and Bench (http://www.barandbench.com/ ). Other activities which are a part of the Law School are MUNs, Parliamentary debates and the vey recent Mock Parliaments. Updates on these are also available on the mentioned websites.
Depicting the biased nature of the author here, I hereby return back to my story. When suddenly one day I navigated through the webpages of The Knowledge Steez (http://knowledgesteez.wordpress.com/ ), I found information regarding ‘Call for Papers’, Internships, workshops and Essay writing Competitions. After several enquiries, I eventually landed up finding out what these things actually meant and what ‘The Knowledge Steez’ actually was. In the whole course of navigation, I came across websites like Conference Alert (http://conferencealerts.com/ ) and The Social Science Informer (http://thesocialscienceinformer.blogspot.com/ ). Information on Legal Internships is also available on Click Internship (http://clickinternship.wordpress.com/ )
Moreover, the solutions of these websites are available at Facebook groups like Law Students in India (https://www.facebook.com/groups/lawstudentsofindia/ ) and Legal Point (https://www.facebook.com/groups/legalpoint/ ). For the Sake of Argument (http://sbfsa.blogspot.in/ ) is also a new beginning. And, yes Lex Speak (https://www.facebook.com/speakinglaw?ref=ts&fref=ts ) is always happy to help.